Soon Google will let you auto-delete Location History, Web and App activity data

Don’t forget to share this post!

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit

Now, Google will let you auto delete your location history, web and app activity data after a defined period of time from your Google account.

Highlights

Let me take you through the highlights of this privacy feature of Google which is coming soon.

– This auto-delete feature by Google will roll out after some weeks.

– After the announcement of this update, users will still have the access to manually delete activity log.

– The upper limit for automatically deleting of data from the Google accounts is 18 months.

How the Auto-Delete feature by Google will work?

 

You can have Google delete your data after either three or 18 months. | Image: Google

 

Last year, World’s biggest Tech giant Google came into controversy when an associated press investigation found that many e Google services on Android and iPhone devices store users data and location even after turning off the privacy settings.

So according to this new update by Google, users can now limit for how long they want their activity and data to be stored. The limits for the auto-deletion of data are 3 or 18 months and the data which will be older than this period of time will be deleted automatically.

So any location history and data which will be pulled from apps like Google maps and other Google apps will be automatically deleted after the user-specified time duration or after 18 months.

When Google will announce its Auto-delete feature?

These privacy friendly controls are first coming to location history, web and app activity. The update will be rolled out in the coming weeks.

Conclusion

This auto-delete feature by Google is privacy-centric and can prove to be quite useful for the people who are serious about their privacy. However, users will still have access to the option of manually deleting activity data all at once point.

WANT MORE EXPERT INSIGHTS?

Enter your email below to get access to free courses, coupons and tips

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *